Loading Events

Exhibition, 09. October 2010 — 30. January 2011 

David Lynch

  • This event has passed.

On 9 October 2010 David Lynch will be presented with the Kaiserring awarded by the City of Goslar. The award has been made annually since 1975, and is one of the most prestigious distinctions for visual artists worldwide. So those who have hitherto known David Lynch, born in Missoula, Montana, in 1946, only as an internationally famous director, the creator of such films as “Elephant Man” and “Blue Velvet”, both nominated for the Oscar for Best Director, or of “Wild at Heart”, for which he won the Palme d’Or at the International Film Festival in Cannes in 1990, will have the opportunity in Goslar of getting to know him as a visual artist: “David, the Painter”, as the art critic Werner Spies once entitled an essay about his work.

The award is accompanied by a wide-ranging exhibition in the Mönchehaus Museum in Goslar, at which the artist’s paintings, photographs, prints and drawings will be on show. This œuvre is no less disturbing than Lynch’s films. Here too he takes us on eerie expeditions to the dark sides of human existence, where yearning and lust, fear and terror are the dominant emotions. The shock essential for the dramatic impact of his films also characterizes his work as a painter. One picture dating from 2004 shows a man being torn apart by a bullet; blood is spurting from his body, while the black eye orbits reveal that he is already dead.

Laconically, as the title of the work, Lynch notes in the picture: “This Man Was Shot 0.9502 Seconds Ago”. A pictorial narrative that does not, however, explain the sudden violence. We do not know who fired the bullet, or why. The existence and identity of the man remain obscure. The time and place are unspecified. But what is made brutally clear is this: violence is a part of our reality. It may also become a part of own lives at any time. We may become a victim, or, perhaps even more shocking, a perpetrator. Another picture, dating from 2008/09 hints at precisely this. A woman looking like a shaggy monster is sitting on a bed, with a little dog beside her. In her right hand she holds a dangerous-looking electric knife. From her mouth emerges the coarse command: “Change the Fucking Channel, Fuckface!”

David Lynch’s pictures are pictures of war. They stage a panopticon of terror and show what people can do to other people. This applies above all to his “Distorted Nudes” photographs (2004). The nudes (existing photos which he has found) are digitally taken apart and deformed. They resemble the protagonists in his films “Eraserhead” or “Elephant Man”. But his works are not just confrontations with others. Above all, David Lynch confronts us with ourselves. His works are initiations. What is at stake is our identity. “No hay banda” (There’s No Orchestra), announces the compere in “Mulholland Drive”. And yet we hear the music; the purported reality is fictitious. So when are we living in the truth, and when in a lie?

The story of how Lynch became a director points to the internal link between his pictures and his films. One day he was working on a painting when he had the lucid impression that the painting was filling up with noise, light and movement. It was a kind of epiphany. This was what triggered his career as a film director. In his films, the narrative core of the pictures unfolds. The themes, though, are the same as in his paintings. The search by human beings for themselves. His journeys into the radiant darkness of his obsessions and into the abysses of his soul. And the shocking discoveries he makes in the process. David Lynch shrouds them in the velvet gloss of his art. This makes them no less terrible, but beautiful. Terribly beautiful!

Michael Stoeber

Veranstaltungen laden

Ausstellung, 09. Oktober 2010 — 30. Januar 2011 

David Lynch – Kaiserringträger der Stadt Goslar 2010

  • Diese Veranstaltung ist bereits vorbei.

David Lynch erhält am 09. Oktober 2010 den Kaiserring der Stadt Goslar. Der Kaiserring wird seit 1975 verliehen und ist weltweit eine der renommiertesten Auszeichnungen für Bildende Künstler. Wer also den 1946 in Missoula, Montana, geborenen David Lynch bisher ausschließlich als international berühmten Regisseur kannte, als Schöpfer von Filmen wie „Elephant Man“ und „Blue Velvet“, die für den Regie-Oscar nominiert waren, oder von „Wild at Heart“, für den er 1990 die Goldene Palme der Internationalen Filmfestspiele von Cannes erhielt, wird in Goslar die Gelegenheit haben, den Bildenden Künstler David Lynch kennen zu lernen: „David, the Painter“, wie der Kunstschriftsteller Werner Spies einen Essay zu seinem Werk überschrieb.

Die Auszeichnung wird von einer umfangreichen Ausstellung im Möchehaus Museum Goslar begleitet. Sie zeigt Malerei und Fotografien, Grafik und Zeichnungen des Künstlers. Dieses Werk ist nicht weniger abgründig und verstörend als Lynchs Filme. Auch in ihm nimmt er uns mit auf unheimliche Expeditionen zu den Nachtseiten der menschlichen Existenz. Dorthin, wo Sehnsucht und Begierde, Angst und Schrecken herrschen. Der Schock, der für die Dramaturgie seiner Filme wesentlich ist, bestimmt auch das Werk des Malers. Auf einem Gemälde aus dem Jahre 2004 wird ein Mann von einer Kugel zerrissen. Blut stürzt aus seinem Körper. Die schwarzen Augenhöhlen zeigen ihn bereits als Toten.

Lakonisch hat Lynch den Titel des Werks im Bild vermerkt: „This Man Was Shot 0.9502 Seconds Ago“. Eine Bilderzählung, ohne dass der plötzliche Einbruch von Gewalt erklärt würde. Wir wissen nicht, wer schießt oder warum. Die Existenz und Identität des Mannes bleiben im Dunkeln. Zeit und Ort sind unbestimmt. Was indes in brutaler Weise deutlich wird: Gewalt ist Teil unserer Wirklichkeit. Sie kann jederzeit auch Teil unseres eigenen Lebens werden. Uns zum Opfer oder – vielleicht noch schockierender – zum Täter machen. Darauf verweist ein anderes Bild aus den Jahren 2008/09. Eine Frau, die wie ein zotteliges Monster aussieht, sitzt auf einem Bett, neben ihr ein kleines Hündchen. In der rechten Hand hält sie ein bedrohlich aussehendes, elektrisches Messer. Aus ihrem Mund kommt in Form einer Sprechblase die rüde Aufforderung: „Change the Fucking Channel, Fuckface!“

Es herrscht Krieg in den Bildern von David Lynch. Sie inszenieren ein Panoptikum des Schreckens und zeigen, was Menschen anderen Menschen antun können. Das trifft vor allem für seine Fotowerke der „Distorted Nudes“ (2004) zu. Die gefundenen Akte hat der Künstler in digitaler Bearbeitung zerstückelt und deformiert. Sie ähneln den Protagonisten seiner Filme in „Eraserhead“ oder „Elephant Man“. Aber es geht nicht nur um Konfrontation mit anderen. Vor allem konfrontiert David Lynch uns mit uns selbst. Seine Werke sind Initiationen. Auf dem Spiel steht unsere Identität. „No hay banda“ (Es gibt kein Orchester), verkündet der Conferencier in „Mulholland Drive“. Die Musik ist aufgezeichnet, die angebliche Wirklichkeit nur fingiert. Wann also leben wir in der Wahrheit, wann in der Lüge?

Auf den inneren Zusammenhang seiner Bilder und Filme verweist die Geschichte, wie Lynch zum Regisseur wurde. Eines Tages hatte er bei der Arbeit an einem Gemälde das ganz klare Gefühl, das Bild fülle sich mit Geräusch, Licht und Bewegung. Eine Art von Epiphanie. Sie war der Auslöser für seine Filmarbeit. In seinen Filmen entfaltet sich der erzählende Kern der Bilder. Die Themen aber sind dieselben wie in der Malerei. Die Suche des Menschen nach sich selbst. Seine Reisen in die strahlende Finsternis seiner Obsessionen und in die Abgründe seiner Seele. Und seine schockierenden Funde dabei. David Lynch hüllt sie ein in den samtenen Glanz seiner Kunst. Das macht sie nicht weniger schrecklich – aber schön. Schrecklich schön!

Michael Stoeber


Kaiserringverleihung

Fotos: H. Göttert


Kaiserringmahl

Fotos: U. Epping


Ausstellungseröffnung


Schülergespräch

Goslarer Schüler im Gespräch mit David Lynch (PDF 0,1MB)


Pressekonferenz

Fotos: G. Kortlüke


Werke

Alle Abbildungen – Courtesy: David Lynch, © David Lynch

Fotos – Courtesy: Galerie Karl Pfefferle

The Paris Suite I – XII, Leihgabe Item éditions Paris

David Lynch, The Paris Suite I - XII, 4 von 12 Farb- Lithographien
David Lynch, The Paris Suite I – XII, 4 von 12 Farb- Lithographien

Fotos – Courtesy: Galerie Karl Pfefferle

Bilder – Courtesy: Privat collection

David Lynch, Bob's Anti-Gravity Factory, 2000, 120 x 106 cm, Painting  Courtesy: Privat collection
David Lynch, Bob’s Anti-Gravity Factory, 2000, 120 x 106 cm, Painting
Courtesy: Privat collection
David Lynch, My Head is Disconnected, 102 x 102 x 4 cm, Painting Courtesy: Privat collection
David Lynch, My Head is Disconnected, 102 x 102 x 4 cm, Painting
Courtesy: Privat collection